A jurisdiction within the canonical tradition of Eastern Orthodoxy

Eastern Apostolic Church

Clarification of Denominational Terms

Apostolic / Eastern / Oriental = the early Christian church, which only existed in the East. Jurisdictions holding to the dogmatic teachings (but not necessarily all Canons) of the Seven Ecumenical Councils, while mainly following the Didaché (Apostolic Canons).

Orthodox =  usually understood as canonical Orthodox, the Orthodox Patriarchal churches and those churches granted autocephaly (independent governance). There is also a number of autocephalous (self-governing or independent) Orthodox jurisdictions that are not or only in partial communion with world Orthodoxy, for example Greek Old-Calendar Orthodox, Old-Believers, the Russian Catacomb Church and other traditionalist jurisdictions.

Catholic = commonly understood as the church associated with the Vatican (Roman Catholic). However, there are also non-Roman Catholics, such as the Old Catholic Church (Utrecht Union) and various other Old Catholic churches around the globe.

Anglican / Episcopal  = mostly understood as The Church of England and other national churches, including the Episcopal Church of the United States. In America and elsewhere in the world, there are also Anglican churches and Synods not in communion with the bishop of Canterbury (Church of England). Additionally, there are some unidentifiable smaller groups of people using the term "Episcopal" in their name.

Protestant = A wide variety of churches based on the "sola scriptura" theology of Martin Luther and others.

Vagante = A vagante is a term loosely used to identify any individual or an ephemeral grouping that, for whatever reason, would or could not affiliate with an established church.


google-site-verification: googleb1cae9e092511463.html